San Diego Kidnapping Attorney
Kidnapping is a violent felony that qualifies as a “strike” under the Three Strikes law. If convicted, you may face a prison sentence of 3 years to life in state prison without the possibility of parole.
Specific sentencing will depend upon:
- Age of the victim
- Whether the victim was injured
- Intentions of the kidnapper
Defense of Your Kidnapping Charges
Have you been accused of kidnapping? If so, it is important to contact a skilled San Diego criminal defense lawyer who can work to assert your rights and protect your future. By working with a lawyer early on, you have the opportunity to avoid having charges formally filed or may be able to avoid going to trial. Being arrested is a disorienting and often frightening experience.
You will likely be asking a number of questions, including:
- What can you do?
- How can you protect your future and the future of your family?
By working with a kidnapping defense lawyer, you are putting your future in the hands of a professional who knows what it takes to defend a criminal case and help you avoid going to jail.
Enhanced Penalties for Kidnapping in California
If you have been accused of kidnapping, you may face additional penalties for one or more of a number of factors. San Diego kidnapping attorney James N. Dicks understands the nuances of California law in regards to kidnapping and how enhanced penalties could affect you. A typical kidnapping charge is a felony offense with a state prison sentence of 3, 5 or 8 years.
Enhanced penalties include:
- If the victim is under 14 years old, the sentence will be 5, 8 or 11 years in state prison.
- If the kidnapping was carried out to commit robbery, rape, oral copulation, sodomy or sexual penetration, the penalty will likely be a life sentence without the possibility of parole.
Contact Our San Diego Defense Lawyer
Don’t take a chance with your future freedom and happiness. Make sure you work with a San Diego criminal attorney who you can trust and who will fight for you in and out of court.
Contact us today by giving us a call at (619) 377-3722.
- October 30, 2017
What If I’m from Another State but Get Arrested for Drunk Driving in San Diego?
- October 24, 2017
Can a Bar Be Held Responsible for a Drunk Driver?
- October 14, 2017
Is Taking Alcohol Across State Lines a Federal Crime?