Failure to Register as a Sex Offender
Contact Our San Diego Sex Crime Lawyer: (619) 377-3722
Under California Penal Code § 290, individuals convicted of
sex crimes are required to register as sex offenders. The failure to register as
a sex offender can be charged as a misdemeanor or a felony, depending
upon the original sex crime conviction and whether it is a first or subsequent
offense. San Diego law enforcement actively pursues anyone who fails to
register as a sex offender.
Failure to register as a sex offender can lead to prison time. It is important
to consult an experienced defense lawyer who can actively assert your
rights and work to ensure you are not penalized excessively for something
that may have been an oversight, unintentional or a misunderstanding.
San Diego defense lawyer will work to ensure you are treated fairly by the legal system.
What Happens If I Fail to Register as a Sex Offender?
You Need Our Legal Team to Fight Your Case
Because of the social stigma associated with being registered as a sex
offender, you may have law enforcement officers, court personnel or prosecutors
whose attitudes are negative or who treat you differently than they would
if you were not labeled as a sex offender. With San Diego Attorney James
N. Dicks and his staff on your side, you will have someone fighting to
protect your rights and interests.
You can benefit from our representation! We offer the following qualities:
- More than 30 years of experience
- Board Certified criminal law specialist
- Former police officer detective
- Experience trying hundreds of criminal law cases
Sex Offender Registration in California
Sex offender registration is typically a lifetime commitment. In California,
sex offenders are required to register their name and address within 5
working days of their release from jail or prison or upon the completion
of their alternative sentence. They are also required to register every
year within 5 working days of their birthday, their change of residence
or their change of name.
Failure to register will result in the following:
First offense where the original sex crime conviction was a misdemeanor:
misdemeanor offense, with a maximum sentence of 1 year in county jail
First offense where original sex crime conviction was a felony:
Felony offense, with a sentence of 16 months, 2 years or 3 years in a
California state prison
Second or subsequent offenses:
Felony charges with a minimum sentence of 1 year in state prison
Contact JD Law for quality representation during each step of your case!